Titanfall 2 suddenly got massively popular on Steam, so now it’s free for the weekend

Titanfall 2 – one of the finest mech games ever made, and one of the best FPS games to boot – finally came to Steam last year with a bunch of other EA titles. Now, nearly a year later, it’s just seen it’s highest Steam player counts to date, and Respawn is celebrating its surge in popularity by throwing a free weekend.

You can pop over to Steam to play Titanfall 2 free until May 3 at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. BST. That means you’ve got just shy of three full days as of this writing to plow through one of the most exciting and innovative single-player shooter campaigns in modern history, and dip your stompy metal feet into the high-flying, mech-bashing world of Titanfall 2 multiplayer.

It’s probably something you’ve heard again and again by now, but you really ought to play Titanfall 2. Yes, it’s single-player campaign really is as good as you heard. There’s wall-running, zip-cord grappling hooks, and a variety of huge mechs to hop into and wreak havoc with. But there’s also a metric tonne of character and heart packed into its relatively brief runtime, which doesn’t waste a second on letting you feel bored.

RELATED LINKS: Titanfall 2 class guide, Titanfall 2 PC port review, Titanfall 2 campaign review